GHG’s MOST ANTICIPATED GAMES OF 2020 [Preview]: Greatness Awaits.

Dee Assassina
@assassinasan

1. The Last of Us, Part II (Naughty Dog) – It should come to no surprise that this is my most anticipated game considering The Last of Us is my favorite game of all time. The first one ended in a way that left gamers questioning their own morals and ended in a way that could be continued or left alone. Yet, Naughty Dog chose to continue it. The bar is already set extremely high, so I’m eagerly anticipating how they’re going to meet it or exceed that bar. If any studio can do it, it’s Naughty Dog, as demonstrated by the Uncharted series.

2. Cyberpunk 2077 (CD Projekt RED)
3. Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch)
4. Final Fantasy VII Remake (Square Enix)
5. Doom Eternal (id Software)

Honorable Mentions: Resident Evil 3 Remake, Dying Light 2, Marvel’s Avengers, Watch Dogs Legion.

If released this year: Elden Ring, Senua’s Saga: Hellblade 2.

-Dee Assassina




“Saint” Patrick Obloy
@offthegeekend

1. Doom Eternal – id Software hit it out if the park with Doom back in 2016, including an amazing soundtrack. Four years and they are gracing us with an already excellent looking sequel. Some new weapons and abilities as well as a new multiplayer game mode, and the return of Mick Gordon to give a new killer musical score. This game is shaping up to be a top seller in 2020.

2. Halo Infinite (343 Industries)
3. Cyberpunk 2077
4. Half-Life: Alyx (Valve)
5. The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor (ZeniMax)

Honorable Mentions: Minecraft Dungeons, Microsoft Flight Simulator, Ori and the Will of the Wisps, Battletoads.

-Patrick Obloy




Michelle Kisner
@RobotCookie

1. Cyberpunk 2077 – This is easy.. I’m obsessed with cyberpunk media and this looks to be the most epic and detailed game in that world yet!

2. Final Fantasy VII Remake
3. Ghost of Tsushima
4. The Last of Us, Part II
5. Resident Evil 3 Remake (Capcom)

Honorable Mentions: Wasteland 3, Doom Eternal.

-Michelle Kisner




Robert Bexar
@robbex2

1. Marvel’s Avengers (Crystal Dynamics) – I know what you are thinking: “how is a game that looks this bad be your number 1 game?” And, really, it’s ’cause I’m so damn curious how this game is going to play. It’s been pushed back a bit so they are likely working out the kinks of the game orrrr.. they are working on the ‘party city’ uniforms. Either way, it’s a Marvel game and the geek that I am is dying to sling Captain America’s shield.

2. The Last of Us, Part II
3. Cyberpunk 2077
4. Ghost of Tsushima
5. Dying Light 2 (Techland)

-Robert Bexar




“Dangerous Disciple” Dan Witt

1. Assassin’s Creed “Ragnarok” (Ubisoft Montreal) – It’s become a running joke with the Main Man Moody that I’m so part-time here at GHG, I’m practically on the Undertaker’s schedule; and, as a founding member of Ringside Apostles, I can use that reference. Even my gaming has gone to part time; gone are the days of being experimental and trying what looks cool. I know what I like and I stick to it, and my choices reflect that. I’m Scandinavian. I’m as much a mark for all thinks Viking as Moody is for the wonderful Japanese… culture.

I’ve been an Assassin’s Creed fan as long as the franchise has existed, this is a perfect marriage for me, and I call dibs on the review. I put quotes around the name “Ragnarok” because that’s not what it’s called; that’s just the title YouTubers give it; I know what it’s actually going to be titled, but I’m not sayin’ nothin’!

2. Cyberpunk 2077
3. Marvel’s Avengers
4. Ghost of Tsushima
5. Godfall (Counterplay)

Honorable Mention: The Last of Us Part II, Predator: Hunting Grounds.

-Dan Witt




Neil Nessa Smith

1. The Last of Us, Part II – This is pretty much as good as it gets when it comes to games. Naughty Dog never ceases to amaze with their incredible, tight production. Just the thought of playing this on the PS5 has me beyond excited. Not only do the visuals look better than ever but the rawness we’ve seen from the trailers so far should give us a hint to what is bound to be some absolute brutal gameplay.

2. Cyberpunk 2077
3. Elden Ring (From Software)

4. Final Fantasy VII Remake
5. Ghost of Tsushima

Honorable mentions: Squadron42, Beyond Good & Evil 2.

-Neil Nessa Smith




Keiko Fukuyama

1. Final Fantasy VII Remake – While Final Fantasy 7 is not my favorite Final Fantasy, it is one of those titles that holds a special place in my heart and one I revisit often. The magic of the game to me is hard to resist, and I really am eager to revisit the world with a shiny gloss of paint and engine. Every trailer I’ve seen has invoked that sense of wonder and magic that I felt playing FF7 when I was a teen, and that alone has me so excited for Final Fantasy 7 Remake. Even if it is just the Midgar Chapter…

2. *TIE* Ghost of Tsushima / Nioh 2 (Team Ninja)
3. The Last of Us, Part II
4. Cyberpunk 2077
5. Yakuza: Like A Dragon

Honorable Mentions: Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin, Resident Evil 3 Remake, Godfall, Everwild, Persona 5 Royal.

If released this year: Bayonetta 3, Breath of the Wild 2, Elden Ring, Diablo 4, Beyond Good & Evil 2, Hellblade 2.

-Keiko Fukoyama




“Shepherd” Daniel Sorensen
@danielsoerensen

1. Cyberpunk 2077 – Without a doubt my most anticipated game of 2020. This boundary pushing open-world RPG seems to elevate itself from the competition and aims for unprecedented options with deep gameplay set in a rich and highly detailed dynamic world. Developer CD Project Red raised the bar with the brilliant Witcher 3 and with CP2077 they’re set to take it to the next level, hopefully with a next-gen edition as well. Oh, having Keanu Reeves in it is a sweet bonus.

2. The Last of Us, Part II
3. Ghost of Tshusima
4. Final Fantasy VII Remake
5. Age of Empires IV (Relic Entertainment)

Honorable Mentions: Half-life: Alyx, Halo Infinite.

-Daniel Sorenson




“Brother” Myke Ladiona
@onemyke

1. Ghost of Tsushima – As one of the few GHG Asian-American game writers I know this might seem a little on the nose, but hear me out: Jedi: Fallen Order was my gateway drug and now I’ve been seeking out the next third person, methodical combat game to sink my teeth into. Just not necessarily from.. From Software. Respawn proved you can have this type of experience be even more narrative driven and accessible, opening my eyes to just how immersive Ghost can be. Sucker Punch appears to be doing away with the slightly bloated open world, power fantasy of the Infamous games to focus more on polished combat in more intimate stages…

And yet while the From Games already do this at a high level, they haven’t been able to do it at the scale like this, with a goal like this — to be a blockbuster action title for a large fan base. Sucker Punch has proven they can deliver a high 4 bible scoring product with ease, and yet even though this might not necessarily be the crowning masterpiece some of the next games on my list will probably be — it’ll still be more in what I’m looking for in at the moment, and what the entire medium in general might be missing in the AAA space.

2. The Last of Us, Part II
3. Doom Eternal
4. Cyberpunk 2077
5. Psychonauts 2 (Double Fine)

-Myke Ladiona




T-2077
@travmoody

1. Persona 5 Royal (Atlus) – It’s just the Persona game from 3.5 years ago.. enhanced. So, really? Beyond the additions, that gamer-waifu Keiko adds as “up-scaled graphics, new story content, new playable party member, new social links”… why? Well, weeb, Royal was announced just as I hit the 10-hour mark in my late-weeb-pass pick-up of Persona 5. Despite loving every second up to that point, I had a business decision to make and thus decided to get the “most bang” for my buck with a quick trade-in– and the insanely harsh wait for Royal that would follow…

In the meantime I consumed goods from a Persona 5 food truck, have mostly “main’d” Persona 5‘s Joker in Super Smash Bros Ultimate (consequently buying a Joker x Smash t-shirt at Anime Expo), attempted to visit a Persona 5 Royal pop-up cafe (which sadly was closed just weeks before my arrival in Akihabara), and nearly bought a Japanese copy of P5R in Tokyo before realizing that it’s the Asia Edition (and not Japanese) that offers English support, out terribly close to the North American release. Soooooo… my wait continues for a 2016 game that all weebs hail as one of its pop culture genre’s crowning achievements. How Royal.

2. Cyberpunk 2077
3. Final Fantasy VII Remake
4. Doom Eternal
5. *TIE* Ghosts of Tsushima / Yakuza: Like A Dragon (Sega)

Honorable Mentions: Street Fighter V: Champion Edition, Under Night In-Birth Exe: Late [cl-r], Granblue Fantasy: Versus, Mobile Suit Gundam Extreme Vs. Maxiboost ON, Yakuza Kiwami 1 & 2 (Game Pass).

If released this year: Halo Infinite, Guilty Gear -Strive-, Hellblade 2, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

-Travis Moody




GodHatesGeeks
@GodHatesGeeks

1. Cyberpunk 2077
2. The Last of Us, Part II
3. Ghost of Tsushima
4. Final Fantasy VII Remake
5. Doom Eternal

Honorable Mentions: Marvel’s Avengers, Resident Evil 3 Remake, Halo Infinite, Yakuza: Like A Dragon, Elden Ring, Senuya’s Saga: Hellblade 2, Persona 5 Royal.

-GodHatesGeeks

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post