WRESTLEMANIA WEEKEND 2020 [Preview]: Ready To Slay In Tampa Bay.

Travis Moody
@TravMoody

No lies here; it’s been tough for me to get excited and stay motivated for this year’s WrestleMania Weekend. After all, I was blessed to attend last year in New York City and this year, the mecca of wrestling madness shoots down 495. With only a few weeks away, Tampa welcomes WWE WrestleMania, NXT TakeOver, and all of the independent promotions that follow. The second reason I’ve been kinda snoozy on what’s otherwise been one of my fav weeks of the year? All Elite Wrestling.

Thankfully, Mox — the new AEW Heavyweight Champ — is set to make his mark in the world of Bloodsport. And we already know the fresh new fed’s resident hardcore hero, Joey Janela, practically runs shit this time of the year. His famed Spring Break is set to feature talent from A-E-Dub, New Japan along with the most bizarre names in the business. And lest we not forget the return of Joey Ryan’s *cough* Penis Party

Regardless of the immense shift of talent from the indies to the NXT’s, AEW’s, ROH’s, and New Japan’s of the world over the past year, Mania Weekend will still NO DOUBT be a supermark-out time and you can expect the Ringside Apostles to have it all covered. Here’s a look at some of the events taking place in and around Tampa Bay from April 2nd to April 5th.

P.S. Check back with this link daily for constant card updates!



THURSDAY, APRIL 2ND

***NJPW LION’S BREAK 3***

Start time: noon PT/3pm EST
Place: The Ritz

Announced talent: Shingo Takagi, Rocky Romero, David Finlay, Juice Robinson, Amazing Red, TJP, Hiroshi Tanahashi, Taiji Ishimori, El Phantasmo, Bad Luck Fale, KENTA, Tanga Loa, Tama Tonga, Ren Narita, Jado, Gedo, Karl Fredericks, Alex Coughlin, Clark Connors, Zack Sabre Jr., El Desperado, Misterioso, Logan & Sterling Riegel.


***THE MARK HITCHCOCK MEMORIAL WRESTLECON SUPERSHOW 2020***

Start time: 5pm PT/8pm EST
Place: The Ritz

Shingo Takagi vs. Bandido

Nick Aldis defends the NWA World Championship

Low Ki vs. Zack Sabre Jr.

Arez vs. Aramis vs. Laredo Kid vs. Black Taurus

Announced talent: Will Ospreay, Alex Zayne, Jordan Oliver, Blake Christian, Black Taurus, Amazing Red.


***JOSH BARNETT’S BLOODSPORT 3***

Start Time: 5pm PT/8pm EST
Place: The Cuban Club

Jeff Cobb vs. J.R. Kratos

Davey Boy Smith Jr. vs. Matt Makowski

Erik Hammer vs. Calder McColl

Minoru Suzuki vs. Chris Dickinson

Killer Kelly vs. Allysin Kay

Hideki Suzuki vs. Thomas Santell

Josh Barnett vs. Jon Moxley

Announced talent: Jeff Cobb, JR Kratos, Josh Woods, Heddi Karaoui.


***WWN SUPERSHOW***

Start time: 8:55pm PT/11:55pm EST
Place: Bryan Glazer JCC


***ICW NEW YORK NO HOLDS BARRED VOL. 3***

Start time: 8:59pm PT/11:59pm EST
Place: 81Bay Brewing Company

Tessa Blanchard vs. Amazing Red

Chris Dickinson vs. Masashi Takeda

Nick Gage vs. Low-Ki

Shlak vs. RSP

Carnage Crew vs. Team Tremendous



FRIDAY, APRIL 3RD

***GCW FOR THE CULTURE***

Start time: 8am PT/11am EST
Place: The Cuban Club

Hobbs vs. Calvin Tankman

Faye Jackson vs. Tasha Steelz vs. Marti Belle vs. Willow Nightingale

40 Acres (Tre Lamar & PB Smooth) vs. Cryme Tyme (Shad & JTG)

2 Cold Scorpio vs. Suge D

Announced talent: Flip Bros, Dezmond Xavier, Trey Miguel, Myron Reed, Christian Casanova, Treehouse Lee, Jason Cade, Chris Bey, Blk Jeez, AJ Gray, Jon Davis, AC Mack, Zenshi, Jody Fleisch, Zenshi, Ju Dizz, Lee Moriarty, Snoop Strikes.


***TOKYO JOSHI PRO IS COMING TO AMERICA WITH DDT***

Start time: 8am PT/11am EST
Place: The Ritz

International Princess Championship: Thunder Rosa vs. Shoko Nakajima

Princess of Princess Championship: Yuka Sakazaki vs. Su Yung

Maki Itoh vs. Priscilla Kelly

DDT Offer Match: Konosuke Takeshita vs. Yuki Ueno

Announced talent: Miyu Yamashita, Rika Tatsumi, Miu Watanabe, Mizuki, Natsumi Maki, Hyper Misao, Nodoka Tenma, Yuki Aino, Yuki Kamifuku, Hikari Noa, Raku.


***EVOLVE 149***

Start time: 9am PT/12pm EST
Place: Bryan Glazer JCC

Announced talent: Jake Atlas, Timothy Thatcher.


***ETHAN PAGE’S BODY GUY EXTRAVAGANZA***

Start time: noon PT/3pm EST
Place: The Ritz

3 Stages of Hell (Stage 1: Live Debate. Stage 2: Pose off. Stage 3: Match w/Special Guest ref. Ethan Page): Brian Cage vs. Scott Steiner

Zachary Wentz, Dezmond Xavier & Trey Miguel vs. Bodyhausen, Warrior Horse & Juice Monkey

Shoot Fight: Jordynne Grave vs. John Silver

Chris Dickinson vs. Erik Stevens vs. Josh Alexander vs. Jake Something

Jody Fleisch vs. Anthony Henry

Body Part Scramble: Joey Ryan vs. Shane Mercer vs. Dan the Dad vs. Luke Hawx vs. Thomas Sharp vs. Clayton Gainz

Chris Masters’ Master Lock Open Challenge


***SHIMMER 120***

Start time: 1pm PT/4pm EST
Place: Bryan Glazer JCC

Announced talent: Kimber Lee, Ashley Vox, Delmi Exo, Hyan, Su Yung, Shazza McKenzie, Allysin Kay, Kellyanne, Marti Belle, Heather Monroe.


***IMPACT WRESTLING’S TNA: THERE’S NO PLACE LIKE HOME***

Start time: 4pm PT/7pm EST
Place: The Ritz

Announced talent: Disco Inferno, Mr. Anderson, D’Lo Brown, Chris Sabin, Chris Harris, Scott Steiner, Amazing Red, Petey Williams, Shark Boy.


***JOEY JANELA’S SPRING BREAK 4***

Start time: 5pm PT/8pm EST
Place: The Cuban Club

Alex Shelley vs. Tony Deppen

Minoru Suzuki vs. Orange Cassidy

The Clusterfuck: Colt Cabana, Gedo, P.N. News, The Walmart Dudes, etc.

Jurassic Express (Luchasaurus, Jungle Boy & Marko Stunt) vs. Young Dumb N Broke

Announced talent: Will Ospreay.


***BLP THREAT LEVEL MIDNIGHT***

Start time: 8:59pm PT/11:59pm EST
Place: The Cuban Club

Nick Gage vs. Stephen Bonnar

Violence is Forever (Kevin Ku & Dom Garrini) vs. Jordynne Grace & Leyla Hirsch

Haku vs. Tom Lawlor

Jeff Cobb vs. Jake Something

Warhorse vs. Shazza McKenzie

Black Label Pro Championship: Erick Stevens vs. Anthony Henry

Multiplicity Match: 4 Danhausens vs. Kobe Durst, Dan The Dad, Gary Jay & Isaias Velazquez


SATURDAY, APRIL 4TH

***EFFY’S BIG GAY BRUNCH***

Start time: 8am PT/11am EST
Place: The Cuban Club

The Bi-Curious Battle Royal

Live Customs Match: Sexxxy Eddy vs. Joey Ryan

Ariane Andrew vs. Jamie Senegal

Ricky Starks vs. Cassandro

Announced talent: Razor Ramon Hard Gay, Cassandro, Cranberry, Allie Kat, Sonny Kiss, Diamante, Kiera Hogan, Candy Lee, Shay Purser, Ashton Starr, Veny, Still Life with Apricots and Pears, Anthony Bowens, AC Mack, The End (Odinson & Parrow), Veny, Juicy Jimmy, Cran, Ricky Stars.


***PRO WRESTLING REVOLVER’S PANCAKES & PILEDRIVERS IV***

Start time: 8am PT/11am EST
Place: The Ritz

What Culture Death Match: Sami Callihan vs. Simon Miller

Shingo Takagi vs. Chris Dickinson

The Rough Riders vs. The North

The Rascalz vs. The Super Besties

Announced talent: Mance Warner, The Ascension.


***EVOLVE 150***

Start time: 9am PT/12pm EST
Place: Bryan Glazer JCC


***WRESTLECON WORLDWIDE***

Start time: noon PT/3pm EST
Place: The Ritz

Bárbaro Cavernario vs. Caveman Ugg

RIOT Lucha Libre Championship: Arez vs. Carlos Romo

Michael Elgin vs. Black Taurus

Jack Bonza & Mick Moretti vs. Paris De Silva & Jude London

Jody Fleisch vs. El Desperado


***WXW 16 CARAT GOLD REVENGE***

Start time: 1pm PT/4pm EST
Place: Bryan Glazer JCC


***NXT TAKEOVER***

Start time: 3:15pm PT/6:15pm EST
Place: Amalie Arena


***JOEY RYAN’S PENIS PARTY***

Start time: 4pm PT/7pm EST
Place: The Ritz

Chris Brookes & Maki Itoh vs. Miyu Yamashita & Konosuke Takeshita

Priscilla Kelly vs. Danhausen

Effy vs. RJ City

Shazza McKenzie, Kylie Rae & Gisele Shaw vs. Amale, Taya Valkyrie & Ivelisse

Joey Ryan, Colt Cabana & Grado vs. Filthy Tom Lawlor, Ken Shamrock & Minoru Suzuki

Announced talent: Ivelisse, Parrow, Odinson.


***ROH SUPERCARD OF HONOR 2020***

Start time: 4pm PT/7pm EST
Place: RP Funding Center

Nick Aldis vs. PCO

Marty Scurll vs. Jay White

Bandido, Flamita & Rey Horus vs. Will Ospreay, Amazing Red & Rocky Romero

Dan Maff & Jeff Cobb vs. KENTA & Taiji Ishimori

Announced talent: Flip Gordon, Brody King, RUSH, Dragon Lee, Kenny King, Amy Rose, Slex, Session Moth Martina, El Phantasmo, Mark Haskins, Jay Lethal, PJ Black.

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post